Evel Knievel- Rest In Peace.

Two really great friends just emailed me about this. Both former music directors of WBNY- Mike & Chris. It was quite nice to hear from them. As they are both from Buffalo- where a record label released Evel’s record way back when. I had the pleasure of hanging out with Evel on my 27th birthday. I drove him around New York City for some radio interviews- I ate dinner with him alone at the Harley Davidson restaurant. I had him cut radio I.D.’s for college radio. (Which I hope still exist today) I spent hours drawing Evel jumping over things as a child. I also built big gate-fold album cover jumps for the Ideal toy stunt cycle- Never will I forget this dude’s insane interest in jumping over things, and breaking all his bones in the process.

evelknievel.jpg

A true hero, icon and dare devil. Amazing. Rest In Peace man. You touched my life big time. This dude kicked some major ass. Way before ESPN- there was “Wide World Of Sports” on ABC- They always covered Evel’s jumps- “Dare Devil” – This dude was no Devil. He was on bad-ass mofo- shut your mouth. Something about his spirit has never left me. Don’t think there will be another man like him.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

